mad2

2016 was a strange year in more ways than can easily be distilled into a simple blog post. For myself, it was a year of personal and professional challenges and introspection. The year began with the publication of Blood at Sunrise and somewhere along the way saw the eventual scuttling of my podcast, as my cohorts’ own personal journeys took them in directions that ran counter to recording a radio show about mediocre films. It also saw the loss of my beloved basset hound Toby and several transitions within my day-to-day life as a High School English instructor. Essentially, the year was a poorly constructed roller coaster that provided little enjoyment to anyone unfortunate enough to ride it.

As the year drew to a close I found myself lining up projects to focus on in 2017. One of those is a mammoth historical novel that has been germinating for some time. It likely will not see completion this year, but honestly that is not a goal; I am hoping only to make headway with it, as it is a passion project of mine and I don’t want to do a disservice to the material. However, I do have projects that are far enough along that I have them slated for release in 2017.

First up, a sequel to 2015’s One Fate for Failure is slated for a late spring/early summer release. It will be preceded by a collection of short stories set within that universe featuring characters introduced in the first novel. Those stories first will appear here on my official site. I do not yet know if those stories will see an official print-run or if they will be included as back-matter in the upcoming second novel. I will make that decision as the release date comes nearer.

That is the central focus of the first part of the year; publishing and promoting what, I hope, will be a truly entertaining bit of genre fiction. I hope more people can be exposed to Maddie’s world and find themselves drawn into the universe she inhabits. It is my hope that fans of One Fate will be more than satisfied with the continuation of the story. I certainly like the way things have turned out, narratively speaking, and hope readers will feel the same way.

In the meantime, it is my hope that I can provide worthwhile contributions to this blog throughout the year. So much is going on in the world at the moment that it is unlikely I won’t have a topic of interest worth discussing. We live in a truly confounding time and sometimes the best therapy is to put our thoughts into words.

I have many words to spare.

-J.

