Comics Con Queso

Kick-Ass-2-Poster1I enjoyed the first Kick-Ass film quite a bit when it came out back in 2010. I felt like it improved on the source material pretty heavily. When Kick-Ass 2 started to see heavy promotion, my interest didn’t really pick up all that much. I read maybe three issues of the source material for the sequel. I didn’t care for it. I had hoped that whatever inspired the uptick in quality of the film adaptation might have rubbed off on Mark Millar and guided his hand. I left feeling like there was nothing there of substance.

The film of Kick-Ass 2 is a mixed bag. I don’t feel like it has the level of winking acknowledgement regarding over-the-top violence that made the first film work so well, and I don’t think that in terms of the narrative it holds together as well. I can’t compare it to the comic this…

View original post 421 more words

