For those wondering, I got off to a good start on NaNoWriMo and it is a blast to write in Ian McGrath’s voice again. He has the same sort of sarcasm that I try to keep in check so it is always fun to let that side of me free. I’m now more than a little bit behind because the computer I was writing on has decided it didn’t want to perform anymore and so I invested in a new machine. I don’t have ANY software for writing aside from some trial version software that has not been kind to me at all. So I’ve been sketching out ideas with pen and paper so that when I get everything installed I can sit down and move at a faster clip. I’m still willing myself to write 50,000 words this month, but I think I knew going in that there were going to be some roadblocks. Unfortunately I have to admit that my day job takes precedent over writing. Also my girlfriend Tori who I’ve spoken of at great length, deserves my attention as well. With our respective work schedules that doesn’t leave a whole lot of time for writing. For those of you who care, you shouldn’t be worried. Whether or not I actually get 50,000 words done this month or not, the sequel to Grave Danger will be completed in due time. It just might take a few months longer to get into your hands. Just be grateful I’m not George R.R. Martin.

I don’t want anyone to think that I am not trying my hardest to get my stories down. I do believe that despite the rocky start I can still manage the deadline if I make myself go at it harder than usual on the weekends when I have the full day at my disposal. I’ve got the ideas on paper for the first half of the story and I have a firm idea of how the narrative ends. Once I start putting words in the characters’ mouths things seem to snowball at a pretty fast clip. So I’m enthusiastic and positive that things will work out to my satisfaction. The only one who truly cares if I meet the NaNoWriMo goal is myself. It doesn’t affect you, the reader, in any real way. I just want you all to know how much I care about this so you don’t think I’m jerking you around.

I’ll update you again once I have some more material done on the manuscript, perhaps with a snippet for your reading pleasure.

