School's Out

School, Why You No Out Five Ever?

I sometimes find myself  wondering what people think when I tell them that I’m still in college. I’ve published three novels but I can’t seem to get my bachelor’s degree finished. I’ve been attending the University of Houston since 2005. I graduate this time next year. I’ll have spent nearly a decade trying to get my four year degree. It’s a little embarrassing. In my defense, I left school twice thinking I had found a promising career only to have those plans dashed for reasons beyond my control. One of the times was medical and the other was just a matter of practicality. But I returned determined to finish and I’m down to my final two classes. What’s that, you ask? Why is it going to take two full semesters to finish two classes? I’m glad you asked. You see, according to my curriculum, I am required to take two sophomore level foreign language classes. Because I cannot stack those classes, I am relegated to taking a single class per semester. Now, I’m re-taking some classes I didn’t do so well in to boost my GPA to levels that don’t make me look like a slacker as well, but I am technically only six credit-hours away from my B.A. in Literature with a minor in History.

I had hoped to take a summer class to get my diploma a bit earlier, but the only Italian offered in that time frame was a travel abroad course that I couldn’t afford if I soldboth of my kidneys. So here I am. Sitting in a holding pattern after the end of another semester, letting the stress of finals week drift away and feeling my sanity return. I feel calm like I haven’t in the last month or so. It feels good.

And that leads me to announce that I will be spending my summer writing. Toiling away on another project that will hopefully see print before the end of the year. I’m going to have more than enough time to spend working and writing, so that’s good news for everyone. I’ll trying to keep up with this blog as well, because I think putting my thoughts down like this is helping to keep me level-headed and evened out. I will be the first to admit that I have fluctuating levels of anxiety and stress, so taking the time to put things into perspective and convert them into words is almost like meditation for me.

Now I need to eat something. Because my stomach is making noises similar to a Wookiee battle cry.

