Signing

We Both Have Blogs, But Only One Of Us Has Readers

I would imagine most people know about Jenny Lawson aka The Bloggess and her amazing treasure-trove of a blog. If not, I suggest you check it out immediately because she is one of the funniest people on the internet hands down. People from Texas, like myself, will relate to a lot of her humor. Outsiders and Yankee city folk will likely find themselves stupefied by the things she writes. It’s fun for the whole family. Except for children. There’s lots of cursing and disturbing material there, so unless you’re looking for a reason to warp their minds it’s probably best to wait a while before exposing them to the greatness of Jenny’s ramblings.

Anyhow, last night I ventured out into the Memorial City section of Houston down to Blue Willow Books to attend a reading/q&a/signing/excuse to drink wine with Jenny as part of her traveling book tour. Every bit as funny and charming as you would expect from her readings she drew quite the crowd, with hundreds of folks turning out to hear her speak and get their book inscribed thus making me feel immediately humble in realizing that at my last book signing I managed to get perhaps 1/10th that number to even say hello. Maybe I need more amusing stories about fake nipples and an assortment of frightening taxidermist animals that look like they belong on the set of a Rob Zombie/Cronenberg collabo.

Anyhow, she did a short twenty minute presentation with a Q&A filled with inside jokes that got big laughs from her fans and eventually the signing started. It went by quickly but I was able to snag a picture with her, thus adding another entry into my “Me With More Talented Authors” photo scrapbook. I also suggested a new t-shirt for her merch booth based off a story in her book that I read a few chapters of while waiting in line for the signing. I hope she makes that shirt. Because I would buy it.

 

